

415 W. 18th Street Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 <u>http://www.cheyennepd.org</u>



Protecting the legend...

Alexandra Farkas, Public Information Officer, 307-637-6537, afarkas@cheyennepd.org Visit us on Facebook at <u>http://www.facebook.com/CheyennePoliceDepartment</u>

For Immediate Release

January 31, 2024

Cheyenne Police Officers and Employees Honored at Awards Ceremony

CHEYENNE, Wy — On Wednesday, January 31, numerous Cheyenne Police Officers and professional staff members were awarded for exceptional performance in their duties. The annual award ceremony was held at the Public Safety Center with City officials, members of the department, and families in attendance.

Awards were presented in 14 categories to over 80 employees, including Officer of the Year, Specialty Officer of the Year, Civilian of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year.

"Each officer, civilian, and volunteer plays a crucial role in the overall success of our operations and well-being of our community," said Chief Mark Francisco. "It is important to hear these stories and celebrate their achievements."

Heroic stories were highlighted during the event – like that of Officer Micah Veneigas. In October, he applied a tourniquet to the arm of a gunshot victim. The bullet severed an artery, and the quick actions of the officer saved the victim's life.

The Officer of the Year award was presented to Officer Kaitlin Peterson. Throughout her career, she has regularly performed above and beyond what is expected while serving the department in multiple roles – as a patrol officer, squad leader, Field Training Officer, and a new member of the Bomb Squad. During the awards ceremony, she received multiple recognitions for her work throughout the year.

Detective Mike Fernandez received Specialty Officer of the Year for his outstanding work as an investigator. He was recognized for his overall body of work while serving the Detective Bureau, as well as the determination he exhibited as the lead detective assigned to a homicide in April 2023. Additional case highlights included breaking up a check fraud ring and detecting an interstate theft group.

The Civilian of the Year Award was presented to Amy Dillon for her tireless work in the Recruiting Division. Her efficiency and streamlined operations have expedited the hiring process and resulted in her being selected for this award.

Harriet "Binney" Stevenson was recognized as the Volunteer of the Year. She has contributed thousands of hours of service to the department and celebrated her 25th anniversary as a



415 W. 18th Street Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 http://www.cheyennepd.org



Protecting the legend...

volunteer during the ceremony. Her dedication and commitment to helping the community is truly commendable.

Meritorious Service awards were presented to Officer Greg Hutchinson, Detective Ty Volin, Officer James Womack, and Conner Collins for their exemplary performance. The Chief's Award was presented to Officer Mark Ehlman for his high quality of work and professional performance on the Traffic Unit and Major Crash Unit. Unit Citations were also given to eight teams that demonstrated excellence during complex incidents.

Additionally, Ellie vanSwearingen, the wife of a Cheyenne Police Officer, was honored with the Family Member award for supporting department personnel. Officers were also awarded for firearms proficiency with the Top Shot going to Officer Nathanial Lucero. Physical fitness awards were given to 17 members who scored above 75% on PT tests.



415 W. 18th Street Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 <u>http://www.cheyennepd.org</u>



Protecting the legend...

2023 CHEYENNE POLICE DEPARTMENT AWARDS

Officer of the Year – Officer Kaitlin Peterson

Specialty Officer of the Year - Detective Mike Fernandez

Civilian of the Year – Amy Dillon

Volunteer of the Year - Harriet "Binney" Stevenson

Chief's Award – Officer Mark Ehlman

Meritorious Service Awards – Officer Greg Hutchinson, Detective Ty Volin, Officer James Womack, Connor Collins

Lifesaving Award - Officer Micah Veniegas

Unit Citation - Jennell Webster, Connor Collins, Tammy Gutierrez, Tressa Wellman, Officer Teralyn Alarid

Unit Citation - Officer Brian Ahearn, Officer Brian Davis, Officer Blake Martin, Officer Emily Taraski, Officer Cole Tompkins, Officer James Womack, Officer Dan Zabriskie

Unit Citation – Detective John Maule, Officer Patrick Johnston, Officer Ben Lewis, Officer Mathew Mikesell, Officer Brendan Tait, Officer Dan Zabriskie

Unit Citation - Sergeant Eric Norris, Detective Allison Baca, Detective Jeffrey Cover, Detective Damon Hall, Officer Teralyn Alarid, Officer Reece Federer, Officer Talmage Peden, Officer Jonathan Penhale, Officer Emily Taraski, Officer Daniel vanSwearingen, Officer Chad Wellman

Unit Citation - Sergeant Eric Norris, Officer Corrin Campbell, Officer Reece Federer, Officer Audrey McGraw, Officer Noah Rodgers, Officer Robert Wingeleth

Unit Citation - Sergeant Zack Johnson, Officer Mariah Bolkovatz, Officer Jeremiah Keslar, Officer Talmage Peden, Officer Kaitlin Peterson, Officer Daniel vanSwearingen, Officer Robert Wingeleth

Unit Citation - Lieutenant Brett Durante, Sergeant Tom Hood, Sergeant Kevin Malatesta, Sergeant Jake Reiber, Sergeant Chase Rippy, Detective Allison Baca, Detective Matthew Freeman, Detective Damon Hall, Detective Caresa Marino, Detective Craig Sanne, Detective Sean Smith, Detective Jeremy Walker, Detective Aaron Willmarth, Julie Anthony, Officer Patrick Johnston, Officer Ben Lewis, Officer Audrey McGraw, Officer Jay Remers, Officer Dan Zabriskie, Officer Matt Ryan, Officer Chad Wellman

Unit Citation – Officer Jaime Glasby, Officer Greg Hutchinson, Officer Brendan Tait, Officer James Womack

Family Member Award - Ellie vanSwearingen



415 W. 18th Street Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 <u>http://www.cheyennepd.org</u>



Protecting the legend...

Commendation Awards – Officer Mariah Bolkovatz, Officer Corrin Campbell, Officer Mark Ehlman, Officer Reece Federer, Officer Audrey McGraw, Officer Michael Nelson, Officer Nathanial Lucero, Officer Daniel vanSwearingen, CSO Kyleigh Price, CSO Zachary Sage, CSO Sybryna Schaffer

Longevity Awards – Officer Chad Wellman (5 years/Field Training Officer), Lieutenant Brett
Durante (15 years/SWAT), Officer Greg Hutchinson (10 years/SWAT), Sergeant Zack Johnson (15 years/Bomb Squad), Officer Kurt Hunter (15 years/Bomb Squad), Harriet "Binney"
Stevenson (25 years/ Citizens on Patrol), Marnee Sullivan (10 years/ Citizens on Patrol), Krista Cooke (5 years/ Citizens on Patrol), Shari Bolden (5 years/ Citizens on Patrol), Charles Cruff (5 years/ Citizens on Patrol), Nancy Cruff (5 years/ Citizens on Patrol)

Top Shot - Officer Nathanial Lucero

 Marksmanship Awards - Captain David Janes, Captain Jared Keslar, Lieutenant Brett Durante, Sergeant Jake Reiber, Sergeant Chase Rippy, Sergeant Matthew Solberg, Detective Mike Fernandez, Detective Josh Hedum, Detective James Pendleton, Detective Ty Volin, Detective Aaron Willmarth, Detective John Maule, Officer Brian Ahearn, Officer Reece Federer, Officer Nicholas Gordon, Officer Brockton Hayden, Officer Jesse Horne, Officer Greg Hutchinson, Officer Jeremiah Keslar, Officer Lisa Koeppel, Officer Ian Lohnes, Officer Talmage Peden, Officer Noah Rodgers, Officer Matthew Ryan, Officer Greg Smith, Officer Cole Tompkins, Officer Daniel vanSwearingen, Officer Benjamin Vapenik, Officer Micah Veneigas, Officer Brian Wiltjer, MSO Brady Pierson

Physical Fitness Awards - Sergeant Zac Bentley, Detective Mike Fernandez, Detective Craig Sanne, Detective Sean Smith, Detective Ty Volin, Officer David Allen, Officer Mariah Bolkovatz, Officer Nicolas Gordon, Officer Marcus Hairston-Payton, Officer Jesse Horne, Officer David Inman, Officer Noah Rogers, Officer Kilian Sweet, Officer Brendan Tait, Officer Micah Veniegas, Officer Daniel vanSwearingen, Officer Justin Young